A Restless Curiosity

Ok folks.. The reason I haven’t been updating this space is because of an inertia of gargantuan proportion which has colonised my body and rendered me cyber-ly inactive. And part reason for that inertia, is the fact that my good ol’ laptop of 5 years just got prematurely terminated when my dear boyfriend accidentally spilled my lovingly made concoction of berry yoghurt smoothie on it.

The thick purple goodness seeped into the crevices separating Z, X, C and Alt, and despite aggresive wiping, blowing and drying, it is now a cranky mess. Being a computer-idiot who generally prefers a fuss-free and economic approach to technology (and YES I know that 5 computer years is technically dinosaurs apart), I am a little bummed. I mean, like DARN IT, man!

Anyway, today we finally went down to the Asian Civilization Museum to catch the Steve McCurry “Unguarded Moments” photo exhibition, which included his famous Afghan Girl photo.

stevemccurryafghangirl

I must say, I hadn’t been so inspired for a long time! His photos  really captured the essence of the moment frozen in time and space. On one of the walls, there is a short write-up of his quote:

When people ask me what they should do to become a photographer, I seldom mention cameras or technique. I say, “If you want to be a photographer, first leave home.” And as travel and fiction author Paul Theroux advises, “Go as far as you can. Become a stranger in a strange land. Acquire humility.”

In the end, I can’t imagine another way of being. My life is shaped by the urgent need to wander and observe, and my camera is my passport. Here are the results of this restless curiosity – a selection of those precious unguarded moments I was fortunate enough to witness.

When I finished reading, there was an imaginary army of little guys in my head doing a standing ovation, because I could literally feel it. An urgent need to wander and observe, a restless curiosity. A knowing that the world is so colossal and there is so much ground to cover that a hundred years wouldn’t be enough.

Which reminds me. Thanks to my photography fanatic boyfriend who stalks ClubSnap forum like a hawk, I recently bought a Tokina 11-16mm f2.8 wide angle lens and have some photos to upload 🙂

Anyway, of late, I realise that when I have certain conversations with people, I have the bizarre power to make them contemplate their lives in a way that sometimes could be depressing (or so they say). I have a tendency to dissect my life issues from ten different angles or psycho-analyse things so that they start looking at their lives in a way they never did before. It is actually quite amusing, but in my boyfriend’s exact words:

“Your power sucks.”

3 responses to “A Restless Curiosity”

  1. your ClubSnap-stalking-boyfriend says :

    thanks for edifying me so much in this post… I still maintain that your power SUCKS… … HUGS =)

  2. vanessa procter says :

    that girl is stunning! such a gripping photo!

Leave a Reply

