On 19th April

I looked up from my book, absently glanced at the Kris World entertainment screen and realised with a start, that Time at SIN: 00.01

(And I’m not even trying to be melodramatic)

So I celebrated my 27th birthday on board a plane bound for Frankfurt, with so many wild thoughts circling in my mind that my head felt suddenly too heavy for my shoulders.

“Caught a Long Wind” by Feist was playing, and I had just finished a line off Shantaram.

 

“No”, she answered woodenly, her body not stiff, but utterly still, the life and the love drained out of it. “It won’t be okay. It’s over. And I won’t be here, after today.”

 

Such a painfully poignant moment. The ironies of it did not escape me.

Little bird have you got a key?
Unlock the lock inside of me
Where will you go?
Keep yourself afloat
Feeling old until the wings unfolded
Caught me a long wind
Where will we go?
Keep ourselves afloat

Leave a Reply

